Skip to content

Kanye Was Out of Line Interrupting That Meaningless Awards Show

September 14, 2009

This just in: this Kanye West character really has a set of stones on him.  He had the audacity to get on stage during a meaningless awards show, while Taylor Swift accepted a meaningless award, and totally disrupt her speech on some cable network.

Can you believe the nerve of some people?

What a moment it must have been for Tyler. Here’s a girl who’s worked very hard to become whatever it is she has become. I think she’s an actress or something. Anyway, she’s getting recognized on a major cable outlet in front of millions of people watching worldwide for this joke of an honor that no one ultimately cares about.

Here’s my question: who the hell is Kanye West to jump her during her moment of triumph?  It really tarnishes this already worthless accomplishment for this girl who does something that makes her famous. I’m not sure what it is, but a lot of people seem to know her, so it must be something.

In the interest of full disclosure: I don’t know much about Kanye West. In fact, I don’t even know which band he’s in. But I know that if I’m Tina Swanson, I demand an apology from Kanye, the producers of the show, and VH1, the station that carried the awards, I think. And if I’m Kanye, I’m apologizing profusely. And I’m begging Tanya for forgiveness. It wouldn’t hurt to send a fruit basket to BET, E!, or AMC. You know, whichever channel it was on.

Many times it becomes easy for celebrities to forget to act with class. They think the rules don’t apply to them. They think they live in some kind of fantasy world where they can do whatever they want. Well, I got news for you, Kanye: Tullulah Switty does not inhabit that fantasy world. She has put in so much blood, sweat and tears into being a model,  UFC ring girl, or whatever the hell it is she does. It’s not fair that her moment of recognition, that ultimately in the grand scheme of society and world events means less than nothing, was ruined by some grandstanding piano or trumpet player. At the moment I can’t quite recall which one Kanye plays.

Award shows are about class and dignity. It’s not about getting up there at an inappropriate time and claiming that Mariah Carey, or Lil Kim, or maybe Shakira, I can’t remember which one he said, deserved this pointless award. It’s an insult to not only Tilda Simpson, but an affront to every other FHM cover girl out there aspiring to win one of these things. Kanye needs to realize that his actions are being recorded and scrutinized by the public. Him acting like some sort of buffoon takes away the credibility that these awards have worked so hard to achieve. I’ll bet some of the executives from SpikeTV were very upset when this went down, as these awards are no doubt the defining event for their network.

If you’re worried about Tracy Sherman, don’t. I’m sure she’ll resume her profitable career of playing tennis, anchoring a local news station, or modeling watches at the mall. You know, whichever one she does. I’m worried about the reputation of Mr. West. Shame on you, Kanye. I’ll think long and hard before I purchase one of your jazz albums again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. abraham permalink
    September 15, 2009 9:42 pm

    you are stupid if u dont know who taylor swift is.
    and it was on mtv.
    and kanye west is a rapper stupid.

    • mikeeltringham permalink*
      September 15, 2009 9:48 pm

      Thank you, Donnie.

    • September 16, 2009 10:41 pm

      Abraham… I’m happy for you, and I’m going to let you finish, but Arto Steals Your Base had one of the best comments OF ALL TIME! OF ALL TIME!

  2. Jurks permalink
    September 16, 2009 3:07 am

    Hilarious. Mr. Lincoln is a douche.

Leave a Reply

