Skip to content

Madden Retires

April 17, 2009

Sad day for the sports world as legendary NFL broadcaster John Madden has retired. Madden was widely respected by players, fans, and his colleagues as being one of the most knowledgeable and capable color commentators in the history of sports television. He is the most recognizable name in football broadcasting. Here to explain exactly what Madden meant to the sports world, and to the sport of football, is the most recognizable name in baseball broadcasting, Tim McCarver. Take it away, Tim:

Today I am going to explain to you exactly what John Madden meant to the sports world and to the sport of football. Now, I am not going to explain it to you by using my voice. I am not coming to your house, sitting down at your kitchen table, and using my vocal chords to produce vibrations in my larynx creating sounds that form words that will help you better understand why John Madden was so important. When I say I am going to explain to you exactly what John Madden meant to the sports world and to the sport of football, I mean I am going write about exactly what John Madden meant to the sports world and to the sport of football on the Internet in a blog.

Now, a blog is short for weblog. Sort of like an online diary. There are even Internet sites where you can go for free and write blogs all day long, if you like. Like I said earlier, it is free, which means you do not pay any money to write the blogs. Some people who are particularly skilled at writing blogs convince advertisers to buy ad space on their blog, thereby turning the blog into a revenue source. Blogs can be about any topic, including your personal life, work, entertainment, hobbies, or exactly what John Madden meant to the sports world and to the sport of football.

Now, that last potential blog topic I said you could blog about – exactly what John Madden meant to the sports world and to the sport of football – that is what I plan to blog about today. One thing you may be confused about is that I used the word blog as a verb, when it is usually a noun. The act of blogging is just sitting down and writing a blog. You can use the noun as a verb to describe the act that you are doing. In order to blog, you just need to sit down and write a blog. That is it. For instance, right now, I am sitting in front of my computer, with my shirt off, drinking a YooHoo and eating Apple Jacks out of the box with my hands. As long as I continue to type at my computer on this blog, then what I am doing is considered blogging. As long as you are writing your blog, you are blogging. It is kind of neat how the same word describes the thing you are writing, as well as the act of writing it. If I were to use the verb blog in a sentence, I would say, “Today, I will write a blog about John Madden, and exactly what he meant to the sports world and the sport of football.” Wait….I mean, “Today, I will blog about John Madden, and exactly what he meant to the sports world and the sport of football.”

Now, you may notice that above I said I plan to “write” a blog. This may be confusing to some of you. What this means is I am not actually sitting down – with a pencil and paper – and physically writing this blog down on a notepad. What I will do is, I will sit down and open the application Microsoft Word. Microsoft Word is a word processing application on computers in which you –

(Ed. note – Tim! Hold up one second. This is all very interesting, the way you are explaining all these functions in intricate detail, but I thought you were here to blog about John Madden?)

John Madden? I am unfamiliar with his work.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

